Uganda Waives Visa Fees For South Sudan Students

Uganda Waives Visa Fees For South Sudan Students

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs spokesperson, Simon Mundeyi has confirmed that Uganda has waived visa fees for South Sudan students seeking to study in  the country.

Mundeyi said that this has been done after South Sudan completed the process of becoming a full member of the East African Community

“Government has therefore waived visa fees for South Sudan students coming to study in Uganda will from now not have to pay for student visas,” Mundeyi said during a press briefing on Monday.

”The same way, Ugandan students to South Sudan are not required top pay for visas, to join other countries including Rwanda, Kenya and Tanzania whose students don’t require visas to study in Uganda” he added.

Citizens from countries which are members of the East African Community don’t require to have visas before entering the respective countries.

Also, some members of the Common Market for Eastern and  Southern Africa(COMESA) have established a 90-day visa-free travel regime and access to visas on arrival.

Currently, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Rwanda, Swaziland, Seychelles, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe offer 90-day visas on arrival for COMESA nationals.

Mauritius, Rwanda and Seychelles offer visa waiver options for all COMESA nationals. Zambia offers a visa waiver to COMESA nationals traveling on official business.

COMESA member states who do not currently offer any travel exemptions or relaxed options include Egypt, Libya, Ethiopia, D.R. Congo, Sudan and Eritrea.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend