Heavy Security Deployment As Voting For Kayunga LC5 By-election Kicks Off


By Uganda Online

Kayunga: Security has been beefed up in Kayunga District ahead of today’s hotly-contested by-election to fill the position of LC5 chairperson..

Voters in the Kayunga district are today, December, 16 casting their vote for the next LC5 chairperson in a hotly contested by-election to fill the vacancy left behind after the death of Mohamed Ffeffekka Sserubogo in June.

The election has attracted six candidates including NRM’s Andrew Muwonge, NUP’s Harriet Nakweede, DP’s Anthony Waddimba and independent candidates Majid Nyanzi, Jamir Kamoga and Boniface Bandikubi.

The biggest contest is however between the NRM and NUP candidates in the race.

Police’s acting commissioner in-charge of operations Denis Namuwooza, who has since pitched camp in the district, justified the heavy deployment, saying that the area has many crime hotspots.

“There is no harm in the heavy deployment because there are many polling stations and we have to escort voting materials and also keep peace so that people vote peacefully,” Mr Namuwooza said.

The district police commander, Mr  Felix Mukizi, warned that anybody who attempts to attack security personnel will be dealt with.

He revealed that marine police had been deployed on rivers Nile and Ssezibwa and Lake Kyoga, and fire brigade put on standby to ensure a peaceful election.

Located in Central Uganda, Kayunga has a population of slightly over 407,700  and according to the Electoral Commission, at least 190,000 people are expected to vote.

Carved out of Mukono district in 2000, Kayunga has three constituencies including Bbaale, Ntenjeru North and Ntenjeru South whereas the district also has 13 sub counties.

Kayunga also has 71 parishes, 407 villages and 338 polling stations according to data from EC.

According to the District Returning Officer, Jennifer Kyobutungi, Kayunga has eight areas that are normally hotbeds of violence during elections including Bbaale, Kayonza, Kitimbwa, Kayunga sub county, Kayunga town council, Kangulumira, Nazigo sub county and Nazigo town council.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend