Breaking news: NRM Candidate Andrew Muwongo Declared Winner Of LC5 Kayunga By-Election


By Uganda Online

Kayunga: The Electoral Commission has declared NRM’s Muwonge Andrew as the winner of the Kayunga District Chairperson by-election.

The Kayunga district Returning Officer Ms, Jennifer Kyobutungi announced the long-awaited results at around 9:10 am on Friday morning

Declaration form

Muwonge polled 31830 votes while his closest contender Nakweede Harriet managed 31308 votes.

Other candidates in the election included Kamoga Jamilu (independent), who got 279 votes, Musisi Boniface Bandikubi (independent), who managed 470 votes, Nyanzi Majid (independent) with 1287 votes and Waddimba Anthony (DP) who trailed with 158 votes

Meanwhile, the National Unity Platform candidate, Harriet Nakweede, and the NUP fraternity have contested the results saying the people of Kayunga have been robbed of their victory adding that they are yet to seek court redress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend